ATTENTION! You are visiting a site that will soon be out of order. We invite you to the new website instead.


The basic scientific unit of the Academy is the research institute; 70 institutes are currently in operation. The heads of the research institutes together comprise a Council of Directors, currently chaired by Prof. Tadeusz Burczyński. Most PAS Institutes rank as leading institutions in their scientific or R&D activity, as is evidenced by the high marks they receive from the Evaluation Committee of the Polish Ministry of Science and Higher Education. Twelve of the PAS institutes have proudly received the A+ classification, a cherished prize of Polish science.

PAS institutes also form part of consortia and centers set up to carry out specific research projects. Nine of the Institutes are involved in such units that have been granted the status of the Leading National Research Center (KNOW) by an international body of experts: the Institute of Mathematics, the Institute of Nuclear Physics, Haber Institute of Catalysis and Surface Chemistry, the Institute of Pharmacology, Mossakowski Medical Research Centre, the Institute of Bioorganic Chemistry, the Institute of Geophysics, the Institute of Oceanology, Hirszfeld Institute of Immunology and Experimental Therapy, the Institute of Genetics and Animal Breeding, and the Institute of Animal Reproduction and Food Research.

Collaborative research units

Since 2010, certain PAS institutes have been cooperating with one another as well as with other, non-PAS research centers and business entities, under the framework of collaborative research units. These include:


Division I: Humanities and Social Sciences

Division II: Biological and Agricultural Sciences

Division III: Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Earth Sciences

Division IV: Engineering Sciences

Division V: Medical Sciences