ATTENTION! You are visiting a site that will soon be out of order. We invite you to the new website instead.

Science Ethics Committee

The Science Ethics Committee was appointed within PAS structures in 2011, based on the Act of 30 April 2010 on the Polish Academy of Sciences. Candidates for membership are proposed by the entire scientific and academic community. Commission numbers 9 persons, titular professors elected for the 4 year term by the General Assembly of the Polish Academy of Sciences. 

The Committee promotes standards of research integrity and good manners in science, expresses opinions on matters concerning research misconduct and breach of ethics in science by members of staff of the universities, scientific units of the Academy and research institutes.

It identifies the nature of the problem, provides advice, gives recommendations and if necessary asks the appropriate disciplinary bodies or authorities to initiate an investigation.

Its Code of Ethics for Research Workers, which the Academy first put forward in 2012 and updated in 2017, provides guidelines for the handling of research data, research procedures, publication practices, reviewing papers, etc.



Members of the Committee for 2019-2022:

Prof. Andrzej Górski, President of the Committee
Prof. Janusz Limon, Vice-President of the Committee
Prof. Osman Achmatowicz, member
Prof. Wiesław Banyś, member
Prof. Andrzej Białynicki-Birula, member
Prof. Andrzej Grzywacz, member
Prof. Tadeusz Luty, member
Prof. Piotr Węgleński, member
Prof. Jan Woleński, member


Science Ethics Committee
Polish Academy of Sciences
pl. Defilad 1, 00-901 Warsaw
phone: 48 22 182 61 15
fax: 22 182 70 50