PAS institutes also form part of consortia and centers set up to carry out specific research projects. Nine of the Institutes are involved in such units that have been granted the status of the Leading National Research Center (KNOW) by an international body of experts: the Institute of Mathematics, the Institute of Nuclear Physics, Haber Institute of Catalysis and Surface Chemistry, the Institute of Pharmacology, Mossakowski Medical Research Centre, the Institute of Bioorganic Chemistry, the Institute of Geophysics, the Institute of Oceanology, Hirszfeld Institute of Immunology and Experimental Therapy, the Institute of Genetics and Animal Breeding, and the Institute of Animal Reproduction and Food Research.

Collaborative research units

Since 2010, certain PAS institutes have been cooperating with one another as well as with other, non-PAS research centers and business entities, under the framework of collaborative research units. These include: